Getting My Freak On

3 11 2009

Some would say that being 43, and having bourne, birthed and raising 5 kids would pretty much mean that getting your freak on days are over. Well in the words of the inimitable Beck “suck on this you weasels”…

Even my own pre-teen daughters (11 and 12, going on 18) are “like, so, omg I cant believe she just did that!”. Given the choice, they would have me at home doing laundry (in a hairshirt, preferably) 20hrs a day, and the other 4hrs would be spent preparing their never-ending meals. Funnily enough, my sons, aged 11 and 3yrs, react approvingly to my spontaneous eruptions of headbanging(usually accompanied by music). These generally occur when some errant radio dj accidentally slips on some AC/DC in the middle of the afternoon without warning.

The boys seem to be genuinely gratified by the fact that “mom is having fun”, as they gleefully join in. My daughters, however, look on with disdain in their eyes and matricide in their hearts, like little harpies… Which brings me back to 1978, and Loretto Abbey, Gorey, then a convent boarding school(and my home from mon to fri). compulsory study sessions were punctuated by intermittent periods of jumping about the rec hall to either Pat Benatar or Patti Smith (the only two 45s we had).

Some of us would work on our moves, while others would sit on the stage steps and scowl. I was never a scowler. I dont want my daughters to be scowlers. So at last weekend’s Halloween hoolie, when I was getting my freak on, I dragged my scowling daughters on to the dance floor. I didn’t have to drag the boys on, they were already pogo-ing. The girls were reluctant at first, then they started to loosen up. But I soon realised that the floor of Elsie’s in Ballinderry was not big enough for this ageing rocker and her pre-teen(not still a child, but not yet a woman(cringe)) daughters. So I straightened my wigs(I was wearing two), adjusted my Vollers corset(every gal of a certain age should have one), and strutted back to the bar, where I sipped my pear cider and watched the next generation get their totally unique, budding freak on.
This made me reminisce about my own parents, and life in general when I was a similar age to my older children. When I was 11, I liked the Bay City Rollers, Alvin Stardust, and Garry Glitter(I know, I know).

When I got a little older(12), I discovered Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin and AC/DC (replace “discovered” with “worshipped” for the latter).

My parents’ 8-Track collection consisted of Big Tom & the Mainliners, Margo, The Dubliners, The Wolfe Tones, and Johnny Cash & June Carter.

The latter was secretly listened to a lot. Bear with me, there is a point, and I am getting to it. My folks never brought me and my 5 siblings to any parties with them(they didn’t go to many tbh), but if they did, I think I would have enjoyed watching them getting their freak on….

Actions

Information

16 responses

3 11 2009
Gerry Mulvenna

I have one son a scowler, the other son thankfully not. My daughter inhabits some middle ground on the issue of getting her freak on, which is a freaky enough position.

On the subject of witnessing parents getting their freak on – eh, it’s a bit difficult to the likes of Big Tom and the Mainliners. Waltzing round a dance-hall would be the height of it. At least there were sing songs for us children to witness the parents letting their hair down.

3 11 2009
Janet Cavanagh

congrats on the first post, brings back similar memories for me!

3 11 2009
Robert

Aww bless! You’re a rocker mom!

3 11 2009
curlydena

I wasn’t much of a scowler I don’t think, though I have no doubt that I had my moments. Instead, it has become a long-standing (I think I’m at the age where “long-standing” can apply to me now *sob*) tradition for my mum & I to storm the dance floor whenever “Needle in a Haystack” by the Velvelettes is played. We always wipes our feet on the rhythm rug to that song, along with many more. Loved it!

8 11 2009
redser

Cheers for the comment Dena. Love to think that my gals will eventually wipe their feet on the rhythm rug together with me. x

3 11 2009
Jane

Enjoyed that, thanks. gave me a lovely warm glow on a wintry afternoon. Good luck with your blog…. I’ll be back!

8 11 2009
redser

Thanks for that Jane. We need all the warmth we can get these days 🙂

3 11 2009
froodie

Ah, when I was wee, my parents and aunts and uncles would go to elsies. On a quiet night ‘twould just be the tick tock of the clock, and “another pint there, elsie”

8 11 2009
redser

It’s a different Elsies now. A rocking kinda Elsies lol

3 11 2009
Elliot

Hey Kate, welcome to the blogosphere. Early indications show that mine aren’t going to be scowlers.

8 11 2009
redser

With a lovely dad like you how could they be ;-p

3 11 2009
uberVU - social comments

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by EvertB: @mrs_Bopp blogs about getting her freak on: http://bit.ly/4pgxuu

3 11 2009
MrsWahooPooh

Alvin Stardust? Rock it woman rock it! 😀

8 11 2009
redser

Alvin was my first crush

8 11 2009
digitalfemme

OMG!!! @mrs_bopp got her freak on! I love it. So … I’m gone away surrounded by androids and I cannot believe I missed this post! Bravo! I enjoyed the read. It reminded me of my younger days. Funny, but we have a lot in common. And our taste in music is uncanningly similar. And poo poo to me if I spelled uncanningly wrong.

8 11 2009
redser

Well there”s only one thing for it Carmen, we’ll have to get our freak on together some time!

Leave a Reply

